Skip to content

Climate Change Conspiracy Theory

2012/03/01

I’ll admit that I spend to much time reading through the “comments” sections of various websites.  When it comes to environmental issues, I want to see what the “pulse of The People” is.  However, depending on the website in question, you can find very ill-informed opinions, especially about climate change.  So many people cling to this idea that climate change is a “hoax” or that it is based on “bad science”.  They have conspiracy theories of scientists all over the globe falsifying data in the hopes of… god-knows what.   Even one of the leading Republicans running for President in the US says that climate change is a ploy by “the left” to get more control over American people’s lives.  (That guy is a nut-bar!)

I believe the image below, from Climate Progress,  does a great job of illustrating why those conspiracy theories make no sense at all.

Conspiracy theory.  Image: Climate Progress.

Conspiracy theory. Image: Climate Progress.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Food Forays permalink
    2012/03/01 8:28 am

    I may be guilty of not educating myself enough on our own oil issues, but I DO take active part in my area, on a personal level, and I participate in discussions across various social media platforms. It sickens me that so many people jump the “easy” bandwagon, and believe this is all a conspiracy. Do they not SEE the changes in the weather patterns? Do they not HEAR about the massive devastation going on? I apologize, that’s my OWN naivete working… nothing has changed in weather patterns, we just hear about it more now with advancements in technology! (please note that last line was DRIPPING in sarcasm!)

    I am truly disgusted at the widespread ignorance. I’m also really saddened that people choose to take a reactionary role in our world rather than a proactive one. As with any other challenge, it’s much easier to believe it’s a conspiracy than to admit there’s a problem and actually have to suffer to do something about it!

    • 2012/03/01 9:13 pm

      Good for you for being active in your area. That’s actually something I would like to do more of.

      It’s funny you should wonder “Do they not see the changes in weather patterns”. This weekend, I had a short “back and forth” with a commenter on a Huffington Post environmental blog and I pointed out all of the record weather events that occurred in 2011. His response was something along the lines of “that is anecdotal evidence and NO ONE can know that those events are caused by climate changed.” Yes, he wrote “no one” in all caps. Then he followed that up by stating that transitioning to renewable energy would be disastrous, especially for people in poor countries.

      In other words, I share your frustration!

      • Food Forays permalink
        2012/03/02 8:36 am

        Can you believe the ignorance? I’ve been on this earth for just shy of 41 years, and just during my stay, there have been significant changes. I have a son that’s 21, and he’s never fallen hip-deep in snow and lost a boot… winters for my 13 yr old son are less harsh than they were even in his brother’s younger years…
        I find it completely abominable that the loudest voices seem to be the ones denying the significance of climate change. I’ve said it before… it’s UNCOMFORTABLE to think of what might have to be given up to save the earth… how incredibly selfish and lazy humans have become.
        I’m not religious in the typical sense, yet I’m afraid even I have to agree with the Bible’s theory that “Man is his own worst enemy”; the prophesies that “man” (colloquial) will destroy what God has created… As a non-believer, it’s never seemed more fitting …

      • 2012/03/02 9:42 am

        To selfish and lazy, I would as short-sighted. The earlier we start making changes, the less it will hurt… and vice versa.

      • 2012/03/04 10:16 am

        @ Food Forays “Can you believe the ignorance?

        Easily. I think it’s explained by redefining as ‘wilful ignorance‘. Pointing out that the IPCC has concluded that recent extreme weather can be linked to climate change will, no doubt, be met by accusations of IPCC bias, and off we go round the merry-go-round once again.

        Qin Dahe, Co-chair of IPCC Working Group I, which together with Working Group II was responsible for the development and preparation of the report, said: “There is high confidence that both maximum and minimum daily temperatures have increased on a global scale due to the increase of greenhouse gases.”
        “Changes in other extremes, such as more intense and longer droughts are observed in some regions, but the assessment assigns medium confidence due to a lack of direct observations and a lack of agreement in the available scientific studies. Confidence in any long-term trend in tropical cyclone intensity, frequency or duration is assessed to be low,” he added.
        Source: IPCC Press Note

      • 2012/03/04 11:32 am

        It is the “merry-go-round” that I find most frustrating. How do discuss these issues with someone who has an inherent distrust for the science?

      • 2012/03/05 8:21 pm

        Re: the merry-go-round.

        A short while ago I came upon an article that touches on the point that If we are involved in science of which some aspects are not commensurate with the cultural milieu, then we are told that our science is flawed — a sentiment I find myself in agreement with.

        I think the only answer is to dismiss people who insist on staying on the merry-go-round as lost in cognitive dissonance and move on, seeking conversations with people open to the facts.

      • 2012/03/05 8:54 pm

        That is good advice and something I have begun doing. I find myself wanting to convince them, to “show them the light”. However, when the “merry-go-round” kicks in, I stop replying to their comments.

        I like the quote as well. I’ll have to keep it in mind.

  2. Food Forays permalink
    2012/03/02 8:40 am

    Hope you don’t mind, I shared this article on G+. Maybe you’d consider adding a share button for +1? I’d love to help spread your word there! (Go ahead and delete this after you read it!! LOL)

    • 2012/03/02 9:38 am

      Please do. I started this blog to “spread the word” : )

      As for the “share button”, I’m not sure how to do that. I’ll “look around” my settings…

      Thanks!

    • 2012/03/02 11:02 am

      Could you provide a link to ‘G+’, food forays?

  3. Food Forays permalink
    2012/03/02 11:59 am

    You go to your dashboard, and under settings near the bottom of the left-hand side, and select sharing. You’ll find that you can add a button for Google+, or I believe they have it shortened to +1 🙂

    Ignorant, short-sighted.. there are SO many terms… When I say ignorant, I’m using the true sense of the word, not the insult form. (Although both could certainly apply!) In my mind, ignorance is incompetence due to laziness… To sum it up Canuck-Style.. they really (*$R%& me off!!!

  4. Food Forays permalink
    2012/03/02 12:34 pm

    I’m still learning my blog works as well! Glad to help when I can!

    Pedantry, the link to G+ is http://www.plus.google.com

    If you’re looking to reach a wide audience, you should consider setting up a profile, and even a page with g+ I find the general audience there is dare I say.. more intelligent? overall than some other social media sites. I got some feedback right away from the share I made from here earlier 🙂
    The more we spread the word, the more we can possibly affect change…

Please keep the conversation going by leaving a comment. Write what you think, but keep it respectful. Thanks!

