Skip to content

Thanks Martin!

2012/02/10

Three days ago, the author of the blog lackofenvironment nominated me for a Versatile Blogger award.  I was more than a little surprised because a) I had no idea what a Versatile Blogger award was, and b) well… I was just surprised!

I was pretty darn flattered too.

The Versatile Award rules state that in order to receive the award, a nominee must do the following:

  •  Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy.
  •  Include a link to their blog. That’s also common courtesy — if you can figure out how to do it.
  •  Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly. ( I would add, pick blogs or bloggers that are excellent!)
  •  Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award — you might include a link to this site.
  •  Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

And so, it is because of a technicality that I cannot accept the award.  (Insert sounds of disappointment.)  You see, I’m relatively new to this blogging business and I couldn’t name 15 bloggers to save my life (I know.  How sad am I!).  But, in the spirit of The Award, I will do my best to fulfill the other requirements as best as I can.  So here goes.

1. A big “MERCI BEAUCOUP!” to Martin at lackofenvironment.  Martin’s blog is an excellent combination of environmental science (the man knows his climate change!) and environmental politics.  It is a wonderful read and the comments section can get interesting : )

2. I guess I already did #2.  Moving on!

3. I’d like to mention two blogs that I really enjoy and that regularly give me inspiratin.  The first is called eek.ology.  It is written by an Australian woman named Lucinda who uses her blog as a place to combine her “love of the environment and food”.

By the way, Lucinda, if you ever get to read this, I have a most pathetic confession to make: I must have been reading your blog for at least two weeks before I understood your blog’s title!  I can be so slow sometimes : )

The second blog I want to mention is earthstonestation, by Dohn Chapman.  The blog combines Mr. Chapman’s great respect for nature with lovely photography.

4. I can’t really do #4 because I haven’t accepted the award… but I’ll still contact Lucinda and Dohn.

5. Alright.  Seven things about myself.  Hummmmmmm.

  • Well, the most obvious would be my first name: Jocelyn.  Although most people would think that is a girl’s name, my bald head and 6’2″, 220 lb frame would make you think otherwise!  Jocelyn is actually a boy’s name in French, my first language.  But everyone calls me Joce (rhymes with boss).
  • I teach high school sciences and math in a teeny-tiny school in eastern Prince Edward Island (Canada).  “How tiny?” you ask.  Well, it’s a k-12 school and we have less than 60 students!
  • I am 33 years young.  Or as I usually put it, “33 going on 16”.  Being a little immature and spending 7 hours a day with children keeps me young!
  • I have a conflicting love of automobiles!  To be fair, I loved cars before I knew much about environmental issues.  I still enjoy reading back issues of the Porsche magazines I still own.  The problem is, while I’m reading, I’m looking out for catalytic converters and dreaming of battery-powered 911’s.
  • I am married to a lovely lady named Danielle and my wife and I have two dogs.  (Did you think I was gonna say “kids”?)  My Gravatar picture is an upside-down shot of our black lab, Maggie.
  • I have a terrible time reading non-fiction.  I don’t know why, but it’s soooo hard!  However, I’m trying to improve this character flaw: I am currently reading More Good News by David Suzuki and Holly Dressel.
  • I love to play drums.  No, that doesn’t mean that I play drums.  You see, I sold my kit in 2006 to help pay for your move from Ottawa to PEI.  At the time, I figured that in a year or two I could by myself a new, better kit.  Unfortunately, our house is rather small and this is literally no room.  So I am, sadly, without a drum kit.

Well, that’s about it.  Again, thank you Martin for your consideration and thank you to everyone out there that takes the time to read what I post.  I hope you all enjoy it!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Daniel Plourde permalink
    2012/02/10 11:19 pm

    Well fiston what can I say, congratulation for the nomination. I know you spend a lots of time writing about what you believe in and that is noteworthy! And because of that and all, other things I can sincerely say that you are my best son There I said it. Mind you having only one was sort of not too difficult a decision. But we love you Joce! Keep on the excellent work we all enjoy reading.

    P’pa

  2. 2012/02/11 2:40 am

    Reading non fiction can be so dull depending on the subject matter. History will give you a good romp though and for insight try biographies. Few years back I picked up a few about some presidents and others of influence. Found some real inspiration. Keep up the good work for the earth. (and mahalo for the mention)

    • 2012/02/11 7:16 am

      Thank you for the suggestions. I’ve actually got a small pile of environment-related books I want to read. But I fear to read some of them because of how dire of a situation they depict. It’s not that I think that they’re lying, but rather I don’t want to get discouraged – the more you know, the more scary it is!

      • Martin Lack permalink
        2012/02/11 8:10 am

        This is weird, JP: My problem is with reading fiction – I just don’t see the point! I guess it is escapism but, if so, I would prefer to escape into that wilderness you are sooooo fortunate to have so much of in Canada.

        However, when it comes to non-fiction, I also have no time for biographies, it does me no good to read about endless numbers of people that have been more successful than me. I don’t need any help feeling insignificant.

        Nevertheless, having just read James Hansen’s Storms of my Grandchildren and just starting to (belatedly) read Jared Diamond’s Collapse, I completely understand your reticence to do so.

      • 2012/02/11 11:08 am

        I spend a lot of time on a stationary bike. So reading is something to occupy my brain while the body is working. I don’t think I could survive 45 minutes of boredom without it! When I’m cycling on the road, I have the scenery to enjoy. But at the gym, I don’t even have people to look at because of the time of day at which I tend to go train.

        So, in a way, it is a combination of escapism and entertainment. Like watching a movie over the period of a month!

  3. Martin Lack permalink
    2012/02/11 6:30 am

    Thanks JP. I had no idea you were so new to this game; you blog like a Pro. 🙂

    Thanks for all the new information but, for the record, you did not need to share the 7 things because you have (quite understandably) turned down he award. 🙂

    • 2012/02/11 7:11 am

      You’re welcome and thank you for the compliment.
      I actually enjoyed the process. And like you said in your “acceptance” post, I hope it creates more traffic for everyone mentioned.

  4. 2012/02/11 8:04 am

    Aw, thank you so much Joce! I really appreciate your mentioning me – very sweet of you 🙂

    Also, votre langue maternelle était le francais? Je ne sais pas! C’est une belle langue! J’ai appris le français pendant 6 ans, quand j’étais à l’école (and first semester of uni in my undergrad years, but it went insane – I was in a super advanced class with native speakers and I just couldn’t keep up). Malheureusement, j’ai oublié beaucoup 😦

    Anyway, thank you again. I’m really grateful for your reading and your support!

    • 2012/02/11 11:01 am

      You are quite welcome.

      Et ton français est très bon! Did you learn to speak French in Australia? I know it’s silly to think like this, but it seems odd that French would be language taught in Australia. I would have guessed something more regional would be taught as a second (?) language…

      • 2012/02/11 10:25 pm

        I did. When I started high school we had to study French and Japanese. I loved both, but could only do one language the next year – I chose French. I loved it and did it right up to the end of high school. I can still read and understand it fairly well and I can “speak” it in the sense that it’s totally incorrect but people styill seem to know what I’m getting at! The writing was double checked by Dr Google though 🙂

      • 2012/02/11 10:32 pm

        Japanese. Now that would be an interesting language to learn. I could finally follow those samurai movies!

        Do you find that you get the opportunity to use your French much? Are there French communities in Australia? I ask both out of curiosity and because it would be interesting to discuss with the students at my school. Since French is the minority here, we have to fight pretty hard to find (and keep) students. It is always useful to talk about other French communities around the world, to let them know that “they are not alone”.

      • 2012/02/13 12:01 am

        No, very little really. I’ve used it when I’ve visited France (which is so exciting!). And I think I used it once, years ago when I was studying full-time and working part-time in retail. My partner speaks fluent French though (he lived there for a year), so occasionally I steal his French comic books (Blacksad is a favourite, although it’s originally Spanish), just to brush up. There is an Alliance Francaise in Sydney, but it’s ridiculously expensive to join 😦

Please keep the conversation going by leaving a comment. Write what you think, but keep it respectful. Thanks!

